How to Upgrade Windows 8 Consumer Preview from Developer Preview

If you are one of those very early adaptors out there you’ve probably heard or have tried Windows 8 Developer Preview released in last September. Today Microsoft has just announced their public beta, aka Consumer Preview, of the upcoming Windows 8. Together, there are tons of changes and improvements over the initial Developer Preview release.

2012-02-29_1121

Here are some highlights of the Windows 8 Consumer Preview

  • Broad range of product changes and improvements
  • Windows Store with an “App Preview” of new apps
  • Connecting to the cloud across Windows PCs and Windows Phones
  • Internet Explorer 10 Platform Preview 5

So if you have a Windows 8 Developer Preview, here is how you can upgrade your system to the latest Consumer Preview.

I installed my first Windows 8 Developer Preview first day when it came out on the virtual box. Since then, there are many different methods you can try out Windows 8 but the upgrade process from Windows 8 Developer Preview to Consumer Preview are pretty much the same.

Insert the ISO image or CD

2012-02-29_1052_0022012-02-29_1056

Let the Windows 8 Developer Preview start up.

2012-02-29_1100

Now go back to Windows 8 Developer Preview Desktop and start the ISO image.

Important note: if you are running Windows 8 Developer Preview 64-bit, make sure the Consumer Preview is matching to what your original version. So if you have 32-bit installed, download the corresponding 32-bit Consumer Preview image as well.

2012-02-29_1104

Now just follow the on screen step and ready to roll!

2012-02-29_1109_001

One thing need to point out is that, Windows 8 Consumer Preview setup you need to have this product key: DNJXJ-7XBW8-2378T-X22TX-BKG7J in order to continue to finish the installation process.

2012-02-29_1107

Lastly just wait till this finishes.

2012-02-29_1110

When everything are all over you will see this “beta” fish (Betta) has changed over since the last time you saw it.

  • Guy

    I don’t have enough free space on my 32GB SSD drive to install Windows 8. I am running the developers build now and was stupidly thinking that it would just automatically update to the Consumer Preview. Any idea how I clear space on my SSD? Says I need 16 GB for the Consumer version. :-(

    • Jonathan

      hmm… there really isn’t a way around this. The only way I could’ve think of is to reinstall Windows 8 Consumer Preview.

      You need to boot into the installer before the OS boots, delete the existing Windows 8 Developer Preview partition, then install the Consumer Preview on top

  • saratbhaswanth

    i have a small doubt…
    Can i upgrade windows 7 ultimate to windows 8 consumer preview…?
    if Yes can u please say how to do it??

  • Clay

    So will this overwrite all my apps that I installed on wi ndows 8 developer or will have to reinstall all my programs?

  • Nabil

    Is there a way to upgrade to consumer preview from developer preview, without the consumer preview ISO?

  • Pingback: Windows 8 Consumer Preview Journey – Day 1 | Windows7hacker

  • Mrlightman

    simply put Use an external hdd for your iso file