How To Pin Settings to Start and Taskbar in Windows 10

There are a lot of settings in Settings app that you can change to make the system to work the way you like. If you need to often access some of these settings, you can even pin them to Start or Taskbar, or create shortcuts for them on the desktop. Here is how:

Pin settings to Start

Pinning Settings, Settings Group, or even Individual Settings to Start is easy, thanks to Microsoft for natively supporting this feature.

To pin Settings to Start, right-click Settings and select Pin to Start from the popup menu.

Pin Settings to Start

To pin Settings Group to Start, open Settings app and then right-click the Settings Group and select Pin to Start from the popup menu.

Pin Settings Group to Start

To pin the Individual Settings to Start, navigate to it first, right-click on the setting and select Pin to Start.

Pin individual settings to Start

I’ve pinned 3 Settings Group and 3 Individual Settings to Start, here is what it looks like:

Start menu with pinned settings

Pin Settings on the taskbar

You can’t pin Settings Group and Individual Settings to Taskbar but you can still pin Settings to it. Simply right-click Settings from Start menu and select Pin to Taskbar from the popup menu.

Settings on Taskbar

Bonus – create shortcuts to individual settings to desktop

Even though you can’t pin Individual Settings to Taskbar, you can still create shortcuts to these settings on desktop instead. Thanks to the Internet, here is the list of settings identifiers that you can use to create shortcuts.

Account Info: ms-settings:privacy-accountinfo
Airplane Mode: ms-settings:network-airplanemode
Backgrounds: ms-settings:personalization-background
Battery Saver: ms-settings:batterysaver
Bluetooth: ms-settings:bluetooth
Calendar: ms-settings:privacy-calendar
Camera: ms-settings:privacy-webcam
Cellular: ms-settings:network-cellular
Closed Captioning: ms-settings:easeofaccess-closedcaptioning
Colors: ms-settings:personalization-colors
Connected Devices: ms-settings:connecteddevices
Contacts: ms-settings:privacy-contacts
Data Usage: ms-settings:datausage
Date and Time: ms-settings:dateandtime
Dial-Up: ms-settings:network-dialup
DirectAccess: ms-settings:network-directaccess
Display: ms-settings:display
Display: ms-settings:screenrotation
Ethernet: ms-settings:network-ethernet
Family & Other Users: ms-settings:otherusers
Feedback: ms-settings:privacy-feedback
For Developers: ms-settings:developers
High Contrast: ms-settings:easeofaccess-highcontrast
Keyboard: ms-settings:easeofaccess-keyboard
Location: ms-settings:privacy-location
Lock screen: ms-settings:lockscreen
Magnifier: ms-settings:easeofaccess-magnifier
Manage Wi-Fi Settings: ms-settings:network-wifisettings
Messaging: ms-settings:privacy-messaging
Microphone: ms-settings:privacy-microphone
Mobile Hotspot: ms-settings:network-mobilehotspot
Motion: ms-settings:privacy-motion
Mouse & Touchpad: ms-settings:mousetouchpad
Mouse: ms-settings:easeofaccess-mouse
Narrator: ms-settings:easeofaccess-narrator
Notifications & Actions: ms-settings:notifications
Offline maps: ms-settings:maps
Optional Features: ms-settings:optionalfeatures
Other Devices: ms-settings:privacy-customdevices
Other options (Ease of Access): ms-settings:easeofaccess-otheroptions
Personalization: ms-settings:personalization
Power & Sleep: ms-settings:powersleep
Privacy: ms-settings:privacy
Proximity: ms-settings:proximity
Proxy: ms-settings:network-proxy
Radios: ms-settings:privacy-radios
Region & Language: ms-settings:regionlanguage
Sign-In Options: ms-settings:signinoptions
Speech, Inking, & Typing: ms-settings:privacy-speechtyping
Speech: ms-settings:speech
Start: ms-settings:personalization-start
Storage Sense: ms-settings:storagesense
Tablet Mode: ms-settings:tabletmode
Themes: ms-settings:themes
Typing: ms-settings:typing
VPN: ms-settings:network-vpn
Wi-Fi: ms-settings:network-wifi
Windows Update: ms-settings:windowsupdate
Work Access: ms-settings:workplace

Right-click on Desktop, chose New and Shortcut. Type in the setting identifier in the location box, assign a name, and you are good to go.

Settings shortcut on desktop

Kent Chen

Microsoft MVP, IT Professional, Developer, Geek, and the co-founder of Next of Windows.

Last updated: 08/31/2015

Posted in: Windows 10
Discover more: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Notify of
avatar
wpDiscuz
Today's Top Picks for Our Readers:
Recommended by Recommended by NetLine